YES!

Purpliest morning glories seen while on a skate

The tote! The tote!

Got onto the Instax machine (me, Maya)

Just going to jot down a few thoughts this morning. I need coffee. Packing before coffee is a risky business.

Went to the Maya Hayuk and Kyle Ranson YES! exhibition opening yesterday, which was pretty superb. What’s been floating around in my head is how I met Maya.

I think anyone that sees her work would be affected in some way, they’d talk about it. Her art came on my radar some years ago, and I really dug the bright colours and powerful geometry. She lives in Brooklyn, NY, and if I ever imagined that we’d cross paths, it’s because I had flown to there and happened to recognize her on the street.

But this is how it really happened: I was in life drawing class last week, in Melbourne, the QV building, and she just walked into the gallery it was being held in.

I mean, that’s just serendipitous. How does that even happen? And she is lovely as well. She seems like the kind of person that let’s the love of the universe in with great ease.

I had the chance to buy one of the totes she made for the exhibition, and I grabbed it. It feels pretty significant… yes, it’s a tote bag, but it represents more. It’s the work of an artist I love, and the spirit in which the art is produced. With internal freedom, the expression of self.

It’s also a reminder, for when I start getting overly precious about my own stuff. Art doesn’t have to be perfect, it just has to exist, with honesty. Aaaahhh! Life has just been so good. I can’t seem to stop saying that, when I think about it. I really appreciate every little thing.

Also, I’ve been super addicted to my skateboard. It’s helped me get outdoors, get around and exercise all at the same time.

Picture courtesy of CatPaint and Nuwan’s imagination

4 comments
    • dangerouscake said:

      Thanks bro! It’s the title of the exhibition I went to. It is good!

  1. hugo said:

    totes colorful tote. and those fat cats look scary :) remind me not to cross them in a dark alley. thanks for the infectious enthusiasm!

    • dangerouscake said:

      Lol! Anytime Hugo. No fat cats in alleys, check. :)

Leave a Reply

