small block afternoon

When I spend time in cafes, I don’t usually do serious drawing there. I usually write or read. But I did some at Small Block one afternoon, and it was very fruitful.

I read this quote today, and I think it’s something that I’m going to need to apply with greater frequency in my life.

If I waited until I felt like writing, I’d never write at all. – ANNE TYLER

It really applies to anything – making art, exercise, cleaning, blogging… anything you’d want to put off until you felt like it. The mood may NEVER come. There is no muse. There would be all these days in between where we could have just put ourselves to work, without overthinking it. I’ve been putting off finishing some pieces, but once I get going, it feel really good.

Are you in the same boat? What have you been putting off, while waiting for the muse to visit?

Leave a Reply

