disposable camera carlisle

I got a disposable camera while I was in Carlisle. We were in a small, pretty tourist town called Grasmere, and it was the only thing I wanted in of a sea of dinky merchandise. I don’t think I have ever used one, or maybe I have and forgot. I always see these beautiful pictures on the blogs of photographers who still shoot with film, and I love the dreamy, deep and sometimes imprecise quality of the pictures.

I was thrilled to get the results back from processing. One thing I’ve discovered about myself is that I value new ways of taking pictures, all the time. I think it’s important to document your life, my life, everybody’s lives, so I get really excited about things like disposable cameras. I have already started looking up bulk packs of the things on Amazon.

I don’t mind that it’s a digital age. I like fun things and photographs.

I feel a bit behind on updating here. I have so many pictures of beautiful places and people from the last month, work is taking a priority at the moment. These pictures seem like a good place to start. I was juggling three cameras – my Olympus, Instagram, and this little cardboard box I kept losing in the labyrinth of my backpack – so volume of shots are not always proportionate to how much I liked a place.

I liked Carlisle. It was cold, cosy, comfortable and the accents were cute. I didn’t like the coffee. My sister and her boyfriend are great cooks. Bookstore culture is still alive and well, and there is a gorgeous four-story mammoth of a secondhand bookstore in the heart of town. I liked eating goats cheese baguettes with cranberry sauce. Overall, it was a thoroughly charming experience.

Leave a Reply

